Putting The Joy Back Into Teaching.

A wonderful example of how teaching SHOULD be!

Bugs, Birds and Boots

050

Many years ago, I read a book called “Putting The Joy Back Into Egypt” by Jean Hendy Harris. It had a lasting effect on me in many ways. Firstly, it helped me to understand what teaching and learning could really feel like and secondly in helped me to understand and empathise with the struggles my own children were having with the school system.Little did I know its effect would last for over 30 years and that I now feel compelled to take the book off the shelf and dip into it again.

Three mornings a week I leave home to go to “work”. I walk down my steep driveway and make my way into our Forest. For three days, I am lucky enough to work with five year olds who are in constant awe of the world around them. Our learning and teaching is through these children discovering their world…

View original post 321 more words

Leave a Reply

